SCS Awards

The Society for Modeling and Simulation International (SCS) offers numerous awards for exemplary achievement. These awards highlight different areas of achievement in modeling and simulation and honor those whose contribution to the simulation community or to the society has been widespread. Recipients must be active members of SCS.

SCS will run the Board of Directors Awards and Fellow Nominations on January 1, 2024.

Contribution to the Profession Awards


Criteria: The candidate will typically have contributed an innovative concept or product, or formulated creative insight, which has been embraced by some significant segment of the modeling and simulation community as evidenced by its widespread application in that community.

Frequency: As appropriate

1992 Roger Smith

1992 Annie Saylor

1992 Chain-Le Jen

1996 Lou Chongde

1996 José Pablo Nuño

1998 Colonel Robert Reddy

1998 Charlie Shub

2003 Lou Birta

2009 Terry Ericsen

2011 Gabriel Wainer

2012 Andreas Tolk

2013 Miquel Angel Piera

2016 Del Lunceford

2017 Saurabh Mittal

2018 Navonil Mustafee

2019 Saikou Diallo

2021 Lin Zhang


Criteria: The candidate will typically have made a group of technical contributions to modeling and simulation activities that have been widely disseminated in the technical literature. As a consequence of these contributions, the candidate will have achieved a stature that is generally recognized as being of high caliber.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each year.

1992 Ed Mitchell

1992 Les White

1998 Brian Unger

2003 Tuncer Ören

2003 Richard Fujimoto

2003 Judith Daumman

2011 Levent Yilmaz

2012 Agostino Bruzzone

2013 Gabriel Wainer

2014 Andreas Tolk

McLeod Founder's Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession

Criteria: This award typically recognizes a group of technical contributions which have been made by the candidate over a significant period of time; e.g., a decade or more. They clearly reflect a commitment by the candidate to nurturing a robust evolution of the profession. The significant nature of the contributions will be supported by their wide dissemination in the technical literature and their discernible impact on the manner in which some aspect of the modeling and simulation activity is carried out.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each 3 years.

1994 Ben Clymer

1994 General Gorman

1996 Bob Howe

1997 Granino Korn

1999 Bernard Zeigler

2009 Mohammad Obaidat

2010 François Cellier

2013 Osman Balci

2017 Tuncer Oren

2022 Gabriel Wainer


Criteria: This award recognizes a substantial contribution to establishing Modeling and Simulation as a discipline in academia, industry, and/or the government. Recipients of this award are typically policy makers or high-level managers who, through their policies, have spearheaded efforts in advancing the discipline of Modeling and Simulation and, through their actions, have supported researchers in this discipline in their respective research efforts.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each 3 years.

2011 Admiral Fred Lewis

2019 Azad Madni


Criteria: This award honors outstanding scientist and engineers under 35 year old who, early in their careers, demonstrated excellence and show potential for leadership at the frontiers of modeling and simulation.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each year.

2017 Laili Yuanjun

2019 Philippe Giabbanelli

2020 Cristina Ruiz Martin

2021 Hamdi Kavak

2022 Maria Julia Blas

2022 Christopher Lynch

Service to the Society (SCS) Awards


Criteria: This award recognizes outstanding service to the Society by a member. Typical contributions by the candidate would be: leadership of a major conference which achieved substantial success for SCS, a major editorial contribution to one of the Society’s regular publications, or establishment of a new and successful business area or program for the Society.

Frequency: As appropriate.

1997 Rainer Rimane

1999 Bernd Schmidt

2000 Paul Fishwick

2002 Bill Waite

2003 Mohammad Obaidat

2004 Adelinde Uhrmacher

2004 Tag Gon Kim

2011 Francesco Longo

2011 Helena Sczerbicka

2012 Hala ElAarag

2013 Yu Zhang

2014 Norbert Giambiasi

2015 Gregory Zacharewicz

2016 Saurabh Mittal

2016 Andrea D’Ambrogio

2017 Jose Luis Risco Martin

2018 Jose Marzo

2018 Antonio Bueno

2018 Jose Luis Sevillano Ramos

2018 Umut Durak

2020 Gabriel Wainer

2022 Rodrigo Castro


Criteria: This award recognizes distinguished service to the Society by a member at a level of dedication and achievement that is rarely demonstrated. The member will have made a series of significant contributions to the SCS over a 5 to 10 year period. Typically the contributions will include some combination of the following: running a conference over several years and achieving growth in its prestige and success, significant editorial service to one of the regular publications of the Society, or noteworthy contributions as an executive officer in a variety of positions.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each year.

1992 Roy Crosbie

1992 Stew Schlesinger

1993 Ghi Vansteenkiste

1997 Mitch Sisle

1997 Ariel Sharon

1997 Eugene Kerchkoffs

1999 Marty Wildberger

2000 Suzette McLeod

2001 Robert Judd

2003 Bruce Fairchild

2005 Axel Lehmann

2006 Wayne Ingalls

2006 Tuncer Ören

2007 Richard MacDonald

2008 Drew Hamilton

2008 Agostino Bruzzone

2008 Bruce Fairchild

2008 Michael Chinni

2009 Helen Karatza

2009 Pieter Mosterman

2009 Bob Brennan

2011 Joe Gauthier

2011 Bill Tucker

2011 Bill Waite

2011 Hamid Vakilzadian

2012 Louis G. Birta

2012 Levent Yilmaz

2015 Gabriel Wainer

2016 Levent Yilmaz

2018 Helena Szczerbicka

2018 Franco Davoli

2020 Adelinde Uhrmacher

2022 Yiannis Papelis

Presidential Award for Service to the Society

Criteria: This award recognizes unique long term service to the Society by a member. The candidate will typically have made a series of outstanding contributions over a 10 to 15 year period and exhibited leadership ability that has clearly resulted in a growth in the vitality of the Society. The candidate’s decisions while in positions of responsibility have influenced the future of SCS. In addition to his/her demonstrated leadership ability, the candidate will typically have an acknowledged stature for technical achievement.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each 3 years.

1997 Vince Amico

2002 Roy Crosbie

2003 Axel Lehmann

2008 Ralph Huntsinger

2008 Bernard Zeigler

2010 Drew Hamilton

2012 Mohammad Obaidat

2013 Hessam Sarjoughian

2019 John Sokolowski

Bill Waite Presidential Award

Criteria: This award recognizes an individual who has made substantial contributions to establishing Modeling and Simulation as a discipline in academia, industry, and/or government. The person awarded the Bill Waite Presidential Award will embody and demonstrate some of Bill’s many contributions and accomplishments to the discipline, ethics, education, vocation, societies, and economics in Modeling and Simulation. 


2018 Bill Waite (Posthumously)

Lifetime Achievement Awards


Criteria: The Modeling and Simulation Hall of Fame recognizes the outstanding visionary leadership and dedication to “increasing the effectiveness and broadening the application of simulation”. Recipients thoughts, words and energies have significantly impacted the use of simulation not only in the field, but also throughout the world.

Frequency: Typically, at most one such award is given each year.

2002 John McLeod

2003 Vince Amico

2005 Bob Howe

2006 Granino Korn

2008 Walter Karplus – (posthumously)

2009 Bernard P. Zeigler

2011 Tuncer Ören

2012 BoHu Li

2014 Mohammad Obaidat

2015 Agostino Bruzzone

2015 Ralph Huntsinger

2017 Axel Lehmann

2017 Roy Crosbie