2021 International Symposium on Performance Evaluation of Computer and Telecommunication Systems

July 19 - 22, 2021

George Mason University, Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Hybrid Event
SPECTS’21 is an annual conference whose goal is to provide a forum for professionals and researchers to discuss and disseminate the most promising contributions on performance evaluation of computer and telecommunication systems. Papers describing results of theoretic and/or practical significance are solicited. Experimental, modeling, analysis, and simulation studies as well as testbed deployment, field trials and experiences gained are all in the scope of the conference. Work presenting novel performance evaluation methods or providing insights on design and runtime tradeoffs are particularly encouraged. SPECTS 2021 will be co-located with the Annual Modeling and Simulation Conference (ANNSIM). ANNSIM 2021 is a new annual conference after merging SpringSim and SummerSim into a single conference starting in 2021 by The Society for Modeling and Simulation International (SCS).



Important Dates

Tutorial Proposals:  April 23, 2021
Paper Submission:  April 23, 2021
Author Notification:  May 17, 2021
Camera-Ready Paper Submission:  May 31, 2021

Submission Guidelines

Please submit your complete papers electronically to https://www.softconf.com/sim/SPECTS21/

General Technical Papers

Current templates supplied by IEEE must be used. Submissions should not exceed 8 two-column, 8.5×11″ pages (including figures, tables, and references) in 10 point fonts. Please include 5-10 keywords, complete postal and e-mail address, and fax and phone numbers of the corresponding author. If you have difficulties with electronic submission, please contact Technical Program Co-Chairs or the Local Arrangement Chair.

Proposals for tutorials (max 2 hours) should be sent to the Tutorial Chair. Tutorial abstracts along with keynote speeches’ abstracts will be included in the proceedings of the conference.

Best Paper Awards

All accepted papers will be evaluated for a best paper award based on originality and technical contribution by an external commission.


SPECTS 2021 is soliciting proposals for tutorials (max 2 hours) to be held in conjunction with the conference. Tutorials should address established as well as new emerging research topics and practical applications in the area of performance evaluation of computer and telecommunication systems. Tutorials should present a comprehensive overview of the state of the art and outline open research and technical challenges.

A tutorial proposal should contain the following information:

  • Tutorial title
  • Names, titles, affiliations and contact details of the presenters
  • Preferred duration
  • Extended abstract
  • Short description of the intended audience and prerequisite knowledge of the attendees (if any)
  • Short bio of the presenters

The extended abstracts of the tutorials will be included in the conference proceedings. Tutorial proposals should be submitted for review in a single PDF file — not exceeding five pages — electronically to https://www.softconf.com/sim/SPECTS21/

Important Dates for Tutorials

  • Proposal Submission:  April 23, 2021
  • Acceptance Notification:  May 17, 2021

Organization Committee

Honorary Chair:  Mohammad S. Obaidat, KASIT, University of Jordan, Jordan
General Chair:  Malamati Louta, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Program Co-Chairs:  George Karetsos, University of Thessaly, Greece and Steven Latrè, University of Antwerp, Belgium
Tutorial Chair:  Maria Calzarossa, University of Pavia, Italy
Publication Chair:  Alexandros-Apostolos Boulogeorgos, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Publicity Chair:  John Vardakas, Iquadrat, Spain
Webmaster:  Antonio Bueno, University of Girona, Spain

Steering Committee

Franco Davoli, University of Genoa, Italy
Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
Mohammad S Obaidat, Fordham University, USA (Chair)
Jose L. Sevillano, University of Seville, Spain
Helena Szczerbicka, Leibniz University of Hannover, Germany
Laurence Yang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada

Technical Program Committee

Ala’a Al-Habashna, Carleton University, Canada
Alexandros Boulogeorgos, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Christian Callegari, University of Pisa, Italy
Vicente Casares-Giner, University Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Minas Dasygenis, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Franco Davoli, University of Genoa, Italy
Peppino Fazio, University of Calabria, Italy
Daniel Garcia, University Of Oviedo, Spain
Mary Grammatikou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Fabrizio Granelli, University of Trento, Italy
Carlos Guerrero, University de les Illes Balears, Spain
Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
George Karetsos, University of Thessaly, Greece
Zbigniew Kotulski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Sanja Lazarova-Molnar, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Alejandro Linares-Barranco, University of Seville, Spain
Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
Malamati Louta, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Mario Marchese, University of Genoa, Italy
Alvaro Marco, University of Zaragoza, Spain
Luisa Massari, University of Pavia, Italy
Pierre Olivier, University of Manchester, UK
Yahya Osais, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
Gianluca Reali, University of Perugia, Italy
Georgios L. Stavrinides, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Daniele Tessera, Catholic University of Sacred Heart, Italy
George Tsihrintzis, University of Piraeus, Greece
John Vardakas, Iquadrat, Spain
Iraklis Varlamis, University of Athens, Greece
Víctor Villagrá, University Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Manuel Villen-Altamirano, University of Malaga, Spain
Gabriel Wainer, Carleton University, Canada
Bernd Wolfinger, University of Hamburg, Germany

Questions? Call Phone: 858-277-3888 or Email scs@scs.org