2018 Spring Simulation

Baltimore, Maryland

Deadline Extended for Full Paper Submission: Jan 8, 2018

APRIL 15 –18, 2018 | Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel & Grand Historic Venue, Baltimore, Maryland

The 2018 Spring Simulation Multi-conference (SpringSim’18) is an annual conference sponsored by The Society for Modeling and Simulation International which covers state-of-the-art developments in computer simulation technologies, as well as scientific, industrial, and business applications. Areas covered include high-performance computing technologies, models and algorithms, GUI visualization technologies, communications and much more. Application disciplines covered include advanced telecommunication; medicines; computer systems; aviation and aerospace; environment, energy, and other industries. Conference proceedings will possibly be archived in the ACM and IEEE Digital Libraries.

A call for Symposia or Workshops is open (see important dates), to raise visibility on topics of focused interest in a particular scientific or applications area. Proposals for special Symposia or Workshops ahould be submitted by e-mail to Andrea D’Ambrogia (dambro@uniroma2.it).


View Preliminary Event Program


Organization Committee

General Chair: Gregory Zacharewicz, University of Bordeaux, France

Vice-General Chair: Andrea D’Ambrogio, University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

Program Chair: Umut Durak, German Aerospace Center, Germany

Proceedings Chair: Jose Padilla, ODU, USA

Proceedings Co-Chair: Paul Antoine Bisgambiglia, University of Corsica, France

Proceedings “Transition Chair”: Deniz Cetinkaya, Bournemouth University, UK

Sponsorship Chair: Saikou Diallo, Old Dominion University, USA

Awards Chair: Saurabh Mittal, The MITRE Corporation, USA

Tutorial Chair: Deniz Cetinkaya, Bournemouth University, UK, and Marina Zapater*, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain

Publicity Chairs: Joachim Denil, University of Antwerp, Belgium and Youssef Bouanan, University of Bordeaux, France

Vendor Track: Marc Banghart

***Organization Committee Personnel who are not presenting a paper qualify for discount mentioned below.

List of Symposium, Tracks and Call for Papers

Annual Simulation Symposium (ANSS)
Erika Frydenlund, Shafagh Shafer, and Hamdi Kavak

Theory of Modeling and Simulation (TMS/DEVS)
Xiaolin Hu and Fernando Barros

High Performance Computing Symposium (HPC)
Layne Watson, Masha Sosonkina, Will Thacker and Josef Weinbub

M&S and Complexity in Intelligent, Adaptive and Autonomous Systems Symposium (MSCIAAS)
Saurabh Mittal, Jose L. Risco Martin, and Marco Luetzenberger

Agent-Directed Simulation (ADS)
Yu Zhang and Gregory Madey

Communications and Networking Symposium (CNS)
Abdolreza Abhari and Hala ElAarag

Modeling and Simulation in Medicine (MSM)
Jerzy W. Rozenblit and Johannes Sametinger

Model-driven Approaches for Simulation Engineering (Mod4Sim)
Andrea D’Ambrogio and Umut Durak

Tutorials and Tools
Deniz Cetinkaya and Marina Zapater

Student M&S Demo Session – Click here for more information on the Student M&S Demo Session.
Salim Chemlal and Mohammad Moallemi

Work in Progress (WIP)
Hamdi Kavak and Omer F. Keskin

Conference Venue and Hotel

Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel
222 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Map  |  Book Now

Conference Breakout Session will be held at the Grand Historic Venue:
Grand Historic Venue
225 N Charles St
Baltimore, MD 21201

Submission Guidelines

Original, high-quality technical papers are solicited for review, possible presentation and subsequent publication in the conference proceedings. For further instructions, please refer to the Submission Instructions in the SCS Conference Proceedings Management System web site. They will be peer reviewed and – if accepted and presented at the conference – possibly archived in the ACM and IEEE Digital Libraries. Papers must not have appeared before (or be pending) in a journal or conference with published proceedings, nor may they be under review or submitted to another forum during SpringSim’18 review process. At least one author of an accepted paper must register for the symposium and must present the paper at the symposium. For author guidelines on how to submit a paper, click here.

Extra Paper Fee

Extra Paper Fees: $110.00*

*This fee applies to attendees who will present more than one paper at the conference. The fee is applied to every extra paper.

Important Deadlines

  • Full Paper Submission: Jan 8, 2018
  • Demo Session Extended Abstract: March 9, 2018
  • Notification of Acceptance: February 5, 2018
  • Camera-Ready Paper: Feb 23, 2018

Registration Pricing*

Members Registration

($750.00) Regular Registration (October 30, 2017 to March 30, 2018)

($800.00) Late/Onsite Registration (March 31, 2018 and after)

Non Members Registration

($880.00) Regular Registration (October 30, 2017 to March 30, 2018)

($930.00) Late/Onsite Registration (March 31, 2018 and after)

Organizers Member Registration

($450.00) Regular and Late/Onsite Registration

***Only organization committee personnel who are not presenting a paper qualify for discount. E-mail Manual Registration Form to the SCS Office at scs@scs.org

Organizers Non Member Registration

($580.00) Regular and Late/Onsite Registration

***Only organization committee personnel who are not presenting a paper qualify for discount. E-mail Manual Registration Form to the SCS Office at scs@scs.org

Student/ Retiree Registration

New Student Rate!
($200.00) Regular and Late/Onsite Registration

New rate applies to students only.

Retirees receive the 50% discount from the Regular and Late/Onsite registration.

Student Verification Form
Retiree Verification Form

One Day Only Registration


*Contact the SCS Office. Day rate available for a one day maximum attendance.

*Registration pricing is all inclusive. All conference registration types include: access to all conference sessions and keynote lectures, coffee breaks, lunches, conference bag and badge, reception, 1 USB including all papers from the conference and satellite events.

Technical Committee

Carlos Agostinho
Michele Amoretti
Colin Atkinson
Murat Bakirci
Marc Banghart
Lars Braubach
Steffen Becker
Alex Beckerman
Christian Berger
Elaine Blount
Paolo Bocciarelli
Andrea Bracciali
David Broman
Agostino Bruzzone
Laurent Capocchi
Rodrigo Castro
Dave Cavalcanti
Deniz Cetinkaya
Maximiliano Cristia
Andrew Collins
Mary Cummings
Andrea D’Ambrogio
Gabriele D’Angelo
Christina Deatcu
Robson De Grande
Joachim Denil
Raphael Duboz
Miquel A.P. Eroles
Armando Fandango
Paul Fishwick
Erika Frydenlund
Stephanie Galland
Sebastian Gerard
Philippe Giabbanelli
Brian Goldiez
Ross Gore
Andrew Greasley
Paul Grogan
Feng Gu
Murat Gunal
Olaf Hagendorf
David Hall
Raymond Hill
Diego A. Hollmann
Shafagh Jafer
Moath Jarrah
Hamdi Kavak
Baha Uddin Kazi
Martin Krammer
Ernesto Kofman
Ranjita Kumari Dash
Siyu Liao
Eunji Lim
Christopher Lynch
Aleardo Manacero
Gary Mayer
Steve McKeever
Mark Minas
Saurabh Mittal
Il Chul Moon
Nils Mullner
Sadaf Mustafiz
Chris Myers
Libero Nigro
Thierry Nouidui
James Nutaro
Megan Olsen
Jose Pagan Ortiz
Yiannis Papelis
Inmaculada Pardines Lence
Thomas Paris
Thorsten Pawletta
Stefan Pickl
Sabri Pllana
Niki Popper
Herbert Praehofer
Francesco Quaglia
Mohammad Raunak
Judicael Ribault
Jose Luis Risco-Martin
Volker Schaus
Artur Schmidt
Klaus Schneider
David Shuttleworth
Andreas Tolk
Samuel Toma
Okan Topcu
Mamadou Kaba Traore
Enrico Tronci
Sara Tucci
Charles Turnitsa
Adelinde Uhrmacher
Alfonso Urquia
Durk-Jouke Van Der Zee
Hans Vangheluwe
Daniele Vernon-Bido
Damian Vicino
Wenguang Wang
Leandro Watanabe
Haidong Xue
Yiping Yao
Levent Yilmaz
Gregory Zacharewicz
Fransesco Zanichelli
Marina Zapater
Xudong Zhang
Zhen Zhang
Hao Zheng
Jinghan Zhon

Sponsorship Opportunities available. Please contact the SCS office.

Questions? Call Phone: 858-277-3888 or Email scs@scs.org